Concerns as NLNG declares ‘force majeure’, halts gas operations over flooding

*The Nigeria Liquefied and Natural Gas says it is determining the extent of the disruption to supply, as the company assures it will try to minimise the impact of the force majeure in the country’s economy

Isola Moses | ConsumerConnect

The Nigeria Liquefied and Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited has declared force majeure, following the extensive flooding currently ravaging several parts of the West African country.

Force majeure is regarded as a common clause in contracts, which essentially frees both parties from liability or obligation when a circumstance beyond the control of the parties like war, crime, epidemic or sudden legal changes prevents one or both parties from fulfilling their obligations under the contract.

Cooking gas cylinders 

Andy Odeh, Spokesman for the Nigerian gas firm, Monday stated that the development had disrupted supply to the firm.

Odeh said: “The notice by the gas suppliers was a result of high floodwater levels in their operational areas, leading to a shut-in of gas production which has caused significant disruption of gas supply to NLNG,” reports Reuters.

Meanwhile, the NLNG is determining the extent of the disruption, as the gas firm would try to mitigate the impact of the force majeure, he reportedly said.

ConsumerConnect reports the Federal Government and its relevant agencies have intensified domestic gas utilisation campaigns for consumers to embrace the LPG (cooking gas) use across Nigeria in recent years.

It is recalled that floods have hit parts of Nigeria in the last two months with the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

The regulatory agency said that floods, caused by  recent torrential rainfall in Nigeria, had affected about 2.5 million persons and killed over 603 people caused by torrential rainfall of late.

Besides, houses, farmlands, bridges and critical infrastructure have been submerged in Lagos, Yobe, Borno, Taraba, Adamawa, Edo, Delta, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Benue, Ebonyi, Anambra, Bauchi, Gombe, Kano, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kebbi, Sokoto, Imo, Abia States, and the Federal Capital Territory, according to report.

Kindly Share This Story