Menu Close

Nigerian Senate confirms appointments of Security Service Chiefs

*Senate President Godswill Akpabio, during the closed-door session Thursday, in the National Assembly reportedly discloses the newly-appointed Service Chiefs answered questions on defence-related matters and topical issues in the Nigerian economy

Alexander Davis | ConsumerConnect

The Senate, Thursday, July 13, 2023, I. Abuja, FCT, confirmed President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s new appointments of the Nigerian Security Service Chiefs.

The confirmation of the Service Chiefs followed their screening in the upper chamber of the Federal Legislature.

The Service Chiefs the Federal lawmakers confirmed are Maj.-Gen. C.G Musa (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj.-Gen. T. A Lagbaja (Chief of Army Staff), Rear Admiral E. A. Ogalla (Chief of Naval Staff), and AVM. H.B Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

It was learnt Senate President Godswill Akpabio said during the closed-door session in the National Assembly (NASS), the Service Chiefs answered questions on defence-related matters and topical issues in the Nigerian economy.

It is recalled President Tinubu, in a letter read on Monday this week on the floor of the Senate, had requested that the red chamber confirm the Service Chiefs.

As the Senate resumed  the plenary Thursday, members started the screening of the Service Chiefs.

In the process, each of them mounting the podium to speak on how he will tackle insecurity in West African country, if confirmed.

Earlier, June 19, this year three weeks after his inauguration, President Tinubu removed all Service Chiefs in Nigeria, and appointed new ones whom he directed to resume with immediate effect.

Those affected in the unprecedented shakeup include Alkali Usman who was removed as the Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Lucky Irabor, sacked as the Chief of Defence Staff; Faruk Yahaya, retired as the Chief of Army Staff; Awwal Gambo, removed as the Chief of Naval Staff; and Isiaka Amao, retired as Chief of Air Staff.

The President as well appointed new Service Chiefs, and appointed Malam Nuhu Ribadu, a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), as the new National Security Adviser (NSA), replacing Babagana Monguno as the country’s NSA.

Among other high-profile appointments, Tinubu also appointed Adeniyi Adewale as the Acting Comptroller-General (CG) of Customs.

ConsumerConnect reports  all the new Security appointees have since resumed and commenced work in acting capacity before their confirmation by the National Assembly, in Abuja.

Kindly Share This Story



Kindly share this story