Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu, Governor of Ondo State and Chairman, Western Nigeria Governors' Forum

South-West Governors to close entry points, make nose masks mandatory

Isola Moses | ConsumerConnect

In an attempt to further curb the community spread of Coronavirus pandemic across the region, the six governors in the South-West region of Nigeria have agreed to close all entry points to the geo-political zone immediately.

Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, Governor of Ondo State and Chairman of Western Nigeria Governors’ Forum, in a statement disclosed this at the end of the virtual meeting of the forum Friday, April 17.

ConsumerConnect learnt Akeredolu said the governors furthermore agreed to make the wearing of nose masks compulsory in all the six states as a way of tackling the pandemic.

The statement reads: “That the entry points of our six states be closed forthwith to contain the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.

“That the state governors agreed that people involved in essential services or dealing in medicine, water and consumable items in particular traders and market men/women should endeavour to wear nose masks while outside plying their trade to minimise the spread of the deadly virus.

Akeredolu stated that the governors likewise approved that wearing of nose masks will be made compulsory for everybody coming out of their homes with effect from Friday, April 24, 2020, in the respective states in the South-West.

Kindly Share This Story