Omicron: Emirates Airlines excludes Nigeria, resumes flights from 5 other African countries

*Emirates Airlines announces resumption of flight operations from Ghana, Guinea, Angola, Ivory Coast and Uganda

Alexander Davis | ConsumerConnect

Emirates Airlines, flag aviation carrier of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), has announced the resumption of passenger flight operations to five African countries.

ConsumerConnect reports though Nigeria was not on the list, Emirates Airlines noted other African countries on the list include Ghana, Guinea, Angola, Ivory Coast and Uganda.

In an update on its Web site, the airlines has announced that it resumed flight operations  between the African countries after an earlier ban due to the Omicron variant of the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Emirates had stated: “From 13 January, 2022, Emirates will resume passenger services to and from Guinea (CKY), Cote d’Ivoire (ABJ), Ghana (ACC), Uganda (EBB), and Angola (LAD).”

It also noted in a travel update posted published on its Web site, that the lifting of travel restrictions placed on Ghana, Guinea, and three other African countries took effect on Thursday.

However, flights from Nigeria and some other countries remain suspended at the time.

The communication further said: “Customers with bookings to and from the following points will not be accepted for travel, until further notice. Republic of Kenya (NBO), Lusaka (LUN), Harare (HRE), Lagos (LOS), Abuja (ABV), and Casablanca (CMN).”

Recall the airline, earlier December 2021 indefinitely, suspended the entry of travellers from Nigeria, and some selected African countries over the emergence of the Omicron variant of COVID-19 pandemic.

However, the airlines later extended the flight ban to other countries, such as Ghana, Angola, Guinea, Uganda, Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Kindly Share This Story