Menu Close

KDIRS rewards 15 taxpayers for early remittance in Kaduna

Alhaji Dr. Lema Jibrilu (r) being rewarded

Helen Williams

The Kaduna State Internal Revenue Service (KDIRS) has honoured 15 taxpayers for the timely filing of their tax returns.

Dr. Zaid Abubakar, the Chairman of the agency, told the News Agency of Nigeria in Kaduna, Kaduna State, Sunday, January 19, that the recognition was part of strategies to encourage taxpayers’ voluntary compliance.

According to Dr. Abubakar, the objective is to encourage taxpayers to file their tax returns voluntarily as and when due, which will assist government in providing quality service to the people.

“We recognised 15 taxpayers for being the first set of people that filed their returns in 2019.

“This is very commendable, considering how citizens avoid paying tax.

“It is also commendable because the timing of filing tax returns is very important for us and it shows their commitment to supporting the government to provide basic infrastructure to the people,” he stated.

He added that his revenue agency “recognised and honoured them to encourage such a noble act and encourage others to key in.”

He enumerated the taxpayers as Alhaji Dr. Lema Jibrilu, who was honoured for being the Best High Networth Taxpayer; and Alhaji Shehu Yakubu, a trader, Best Taxpayer, Direct Assessment (DA), Doka West.

Others are Capital Express Assurance, Best Taxpayer, Pay-As-You-Earn (PAYE), Doka West; Mr. Wole Ogunbiade, Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Best Taxpayer, DA, Doka East; and Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR), Best Taxpayer, PAYE, Doka East.

Abubakar disclosed Malam Ibrahim Garba was recognised as the Best Taxpayer, DA, Kakuri East; St. Gerard Hospital, Best Taxpayer, PAYE, Kakuri East; and Hajiya Indo Yuguda, Best Taxpayer, DA, Kawo.

Islamic Medical Foundation, Best Taxpayer, DA, Tudun Wada; Suleiman Abbas Ladan, Best Taxpayer, DA, Samaru; Premier Seeds Best Taxpayer, PAYE, Samaru; and Alhaji Bala Bello, Best Taxpayer, DA, Zaria, were also rewarded.

The agency also recognised Sunseed Nigeria Limited as Best Taxpayer, PAYE, Zaria; Dr E. Ozumba, Best Taxpayer, DA, Kafanchan; and Throneroom Trust Ministry, Best Taxpayer, PAYE, Kafanchan.

Abubakar also said that 25 staff of the agency were equally honoured for outstanding performance within the period under review.

The deserving workers were given plaques and cash as incentives to boost their morale and encourage others to emulate their performance, he said.

The revenue collection boss assured that the awards would be a yearly activity to encourage taxpayers and workers in the state.

Kindly Share This Story

Kindly share this story