Menu Close

President Tinubu inaugurates NEC to revive Nigerian economy

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR

*President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has inaugurated the new National Economic Council, urging the members to join forces with his administration in the task of reviving and transforming the West African country’s economy

Isola Moses | ConsumerConnect

President Bola Tinubu has inaugurated the new National Economic Council (NEC), with an assurance to sustain the revitalisation of the Nigerian economy.

ConsumerConnect reports  President Tinubu, while addressing members of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF), charged the Council to join forces to support his administration in the task of transforming the West African country’s economy.

The President also reminded the NEC of the promise he made to Nigerians in his inaugural speech on Abuja, that he would focus on eight priority areas.

These priority sectors include Security, Economy, Job creation, Agriculture and Infrastructure, among others.

According to the Nigerian President, the task of the growing the economy is quite enormous, but assured that he and the Governors should have no reason to complain, as he underlined the need harness Nigeria’s potential to stimulate marked  growth and development in the economy.

It was also learnt the inauguration of the NEC was sequel to the President’s earlier directive for the members to meet and come up with interventions to mitigate the effects of the petroleum subsidy on consumers.

In attendance at the meeting commenced are Kwara, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; Osun, Ademola Adeleke; Kogi, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti, Biodun Oyebanji; Nasarawa, Abdullahi Sule; Akwa Ibom, Umo Eno; and Enugu, Peter Mbah; Cross River, Bassey Otu; Plateau, Caleb Muftwang; Kebbi, Nasir Idris; Katsina, Aliyu Radda; and Benue Hycinth Alia.

Others are Zamfara, Dauda Lawal; Ogun, Dapo Abiodun; Anambra, Charles Soludo; Yobe, Mai Mala Buni; Taraba, Agbu Kefas; Gombe, Sheriff; Delta, Oborevwori; Rivers, Siminalayi Fubara; Niger Mohammed Bago; and Sokoto, Ahmad Aliyu.

Ebonyi, Francis Nwifuru; Kaduna, Uba Sani; Edo, Godwin Obaseki; Abia, Alex Otti; Bayelsa, Douye Diri; Kano, Abba Yusuf; Bauchi, Bala Mohammed; Oyo, Seyi Makinde; and Borno State Deputy Governor, Umar Kadafur and Deputy Governor of Ondo, Lucky Ayedatiwa, also attended the meeting with the President.

Besides, Sen. George Akume, Secretary to the Government of the Federation; Femi Gbajabiamila, Chief of Staff to the President; Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL), Malam Mele Kyari, Acting Accountant General of the Federation, Oluwatoyin Madein, Acting Governor of Central Bank, Folashodun Shonubi, Permanent Secretaries Budget and National Planning, Federal Capital Territory Administration, were all in attendance.

Kindly Share This Story



Kindly share this story